How to temporarily shut down facebook

how to temporarily shut down facebook

How to deactivate Facebook and delete Facebook accounts

You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want. Jan 18,  · Easy to follow tutorial on deactivating your Facebook account temporarily, This is different from deleting your account which will permanently remove all you.

This post will show you how to temporarily deactivate a facebook account. The 2nd half of this post will guide you on how to permanently delete your Facebook account. Deactivating your account simply means hiding how to add itunes gift card to ipod touch 4g account from the public for a while and returning back to it when you wish.

But when you delete your account, all you profile information such as photos, messages, posts and group or Facebook page will be deleted on the Facebook server. A wise thing to do will be to back up your data before deleting. Here is how Facebook describes the differences. For some people who have whut up their mind to leave Facebook community permanently or delete your account so you can create a new one, to delete your face book account permanently follow the below steps.

Log in to leave a comment. Home Block Delete Facebook Instagram. Sign in. Log into your account. Forgot your password? Password recovery. Recover your password.

Get help. How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently For some people who have made up their mind to leave Facebook community permanently or delete your account so you can create a new one, to delete your face book account permanently follow the below steps. Facebook Comments Jow. Create A New Facebook Account.

Is Facebook Account Deactivation Permanent?

Jan 28,  · Whether you're concerned about your online privacy or just want to disconnect from social media, there are two ways to get rid of a Facebook account: You can temporarily Author: Danielle Wolf. Can I remove the account of a friend or family member who's medically incapacitated? Jun 25,  · To temporarily deactivate your Facebook account, all you have to do is log onto your profile on desktop then follow these steps: Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Author: Cara Curtis.

This article was co-authored by our trained team of editors and researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness. This article has been viewed 1,, times.

Learn more This wikiHow teaches you how to temporarily remove your Facebook profile from Facebook, though you'll be able to return to it simply by logging in. This process is different than permanently deleting your Facebook account. To deactivate your Facebook account on a mobile phone, start by opening the app and navigating to Settings. For more tips, including how to deactivate your Facebook account on a web browser, read on!

Did this summary help you? Yes No. Log in Social login does not work in incognito and private browsers. Please log in with your username or email to continue. No account yet? Create an account. We use cookies to make wikiHow great. By using our site, you agree to our cookie policy. Cookie Settings. Learn why people trust wikiHow. Download Article Explore this Article methods. Tips and Warnings. Related Articles.

Article Summary. Method 1 of Open Facebook. This is a dark-blue app with a white "f" on it. If you're logged into Facebook, opening it will take you to your News Feed. If you aren't logged into Facebook on your Android, enter your email address and password and tap Sign in to view the News Feed. It's in either the bottom-right corner of the screen iPhone or the top-right corner of the screen Android. Scroll down and tap Settings. Skip this step for Android. Tap Account Settings.

Tap General. This tab is near the top of the screen. Tap Manage Account. It's the bottom option on this page. Tap Deactivate. This link is to the right of the "Account" heading. Enter your password, then tap Continue. Doing so will take you to the deactivation page. Tap a reason for deactivating your account. If you tap the Other option at the bottom of the section, you'll need to type in a reason for deactivating. If you want Facebook to reactivate your account automatically after a week or less, tap This is temporary.

I'll be back. Tap Close if prompted to take separate action. If your selected reason is deemed fixable by Facebook, you'll receive a pop-up messaging with an alternative optional action; tapping Close will remove this pop-up. To do so, simply tap the boxes next to Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook and Keep me signed into Messenger respectively.

It's at the bottom of the page. Doing this will immediately deactivate your account. You may be asked to enter your password once more before the deactivation occurs. You can re-activate your account by logging back into Facebook the next time you open the app. Method 2 of Go to the Facebook website. If you're already logged into Facebook, this will take you to your News Feed. If you aren't logged into Facebook, enter your email address or phone number into the top-right corner of the screen and click Log In to continue.

You'll see this icon in the top-right side of the Facebook page, just right of the? Clicking it will invoke a drop-down menu. Click Settings. It's toward the bottom of the drop-down menu.

Click the General tab. You'll see this option in the top-left side of the page. Click Manage Account. It's the last option on the page. Click the "Deactivate your account" link. This option is just above the Close button. Type in your Facebook password. You'll do this in the text field near the middle of the page. Click Continue. As long as your password is correct, doing so will take you to the deactivation page. Click a reason for deactivating.

You'll do this in the "Reason for leaving" section near the bottom of the page. If you want Facebook to reactivate your account automatically after a week or less, click This is temporary. Click Close if prompted to take separate action.

Depending on your selected reason for leaving, Facebook may recommend that you log out or add friends instead of deactivating your account. Review the exit options. Before deactivating your account, you can check or uncheck the following options: Email opt out - Check this box to prevent Facebook from sending emails to you.

Messenger - Deactivates Facebook Messenger as well. If you don't check this box, people will still be able to look you up and send you messages through Messenger. Delete applications - If you're a Facebook developer and you have created applications, they will be listed on this page.

Checking this box removes them from your developer profile. Click Deactivate. It's the blue button at the bottom of the page. You may need to re-enter your password after this step. Click Deactivate Now when prompted. Doing so will deactivate your Facebook account. If you want to re-activate it at any time, simply go to the Facebook login page, enter your email address and password, and click Log In.

Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered. When you deactivate, all of the information on your profile is saved in case you wish to return. Helpful 0 Not Helpful 0. Submit a Tip All tip submissions are carefully reviewed before being published. Deactivate only when you need to. If you do this too frequently, after a certain period of time, you won't be allowed to reactivate your account right away.

Helpful 1 Not Helpful 0. The only way to permanently remove sensitive information from Facebook's servers is by deleting your account. Related wikiHows How to. How to. About This Article.

Co-authored by:. Co-authors: Updated: November 5, Article Summary X To deactivate your Facebook account on a mobile phone, start by opening the app and navigating to Settings.

How to temporarily shut down facebook: 4 comments

Add a comment

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked *